My Story, Part I

Greetings all,

IMG_4280

Here I am, relaxing in my favorite nap spot on the back of Marmie’s couch.  I sure do live in the lap of luxury, don’t I?

The truth is, I do live quite a charmed life.  But it hasn’t always been this way. 

Before I moved in with Marmie, I lived on the streets.

Since I’ve been blogging for a few months now, I figured it’s finally time to finally share the story of how I came to be a housecat. 

Without further adieu, here’s Part I of the official story detailing how I transitioned from street talkin’ to bird watchin’

On March 19th, 2010, Marmie and Diddy decided to take a walk around a local baseball park.

They had walked for about 15 minutes before they spotted little orange me begging for a bit of food in the parking lot.

And there I was!  I had a mother and her son wrapped around my claw.  They were  sitting in the open trunk of their van, legs dangling, feeding me bits of McDonald’s cheeseburger.

Marmie, a cat lover since birth, saw me– a skinny, orange cat, and she walked right over to pet me.

Marmie said, somewhat jokingly, “Hey, Kitty.  Can I take you home and name you Zelda?

Diddy knew there was only a hint of jest in Marmie’s question.  It was no secret Marmie, a poor graduate student, was anxiously anticipating the day she could financially afford to adopt a cat.  She was rather eager for this day to arrive as she’d already decided she wanted to adopt a girl cat, and she’d predetermined this cat’s name to be Zelda.

Well, on this March day, Diddy took one look at my backside and determined I was no Zelda.  He told Marmie, “You can’t name this cat Zelda, but you can take it home and name it Link.”

(FYI-Link is the male hero and Zelda is the female princess in the Zelda videogames.)

This statement from Diddy was exactly the reason Marmie decided to give me a temporary shelter.  But not for the reason you think.

“You mean, he’s not neutered?” She asked Diddy.  “We have to take him to a shelter,” she exclaimed.

Yes, folks, that is correct.  Marmie considered taking me home with her simply because she did not like the idea of me roaming the streets, creating orange man cat offspring.

Being 6 o’clock on a Friday evening, Marmie knew she couldn’t get me to a shelter before they closed.  So, she decided to take me home with her for just one night and then bring me to a shelter the next morning.

***

Obviously, we know Marmie kept me for a lot more that 1 night, but in order to read how 1 night became over 365 nights, you’ll have to stay tuned for My Story, Part II.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “My Story, Part I

  1. Oh my, I can’t believe you left me hanging like that! That’s a page turner Link, but I’ve got no pages!

  2. Link, this is a great story!! We can’t wait to hear the rest!! And our mom says she can’t believe a handsome guy like you was left wandering around the streets…but then again, she’s got a thing for orange boys…heehee!!

    Happy Gotcha Day!!

  3. You has an interesting background too pal. It’s no fun out on the streets is it. I so happy you has a good home now. Can’t wait to hear the rest of your story.

  4. SMOKES! We cannot wait to hear the rest!

    Although we think the world cannot have enough orange ManCats, we’re glad you got gotted. And presumably de-hoo-ha-ed.

  5. I HAVE CAT

    It’s your own personal Sheherazade!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scheherazade

  6. Link, buddy… a cliffhanger? Is this blog ratings week? 😉

    Woofs & hugs from your doggie bud,

    ~Bailey

  7. Oh Link, we are so glad that Marmie went for that walk that afternoon. That is such a great story. It isn’t any fun at all walking those streets and hoping for something to eat.
    That sure is one big tail that you have. Hope all of you have a fantastic day.

  8. Fuzzy Tales

    That’s a great part 1, Link! Looking forward to reading the next part, but somehow we’re not surprised your Marmie kept you. LOL.

  9. ohhh Link I love this story! I have always told you I can’t believe anyone would have given you up…you re too precious!!
    Can’t wait for Part II !!!!

  10. Link – we are looking forward to part 2 of your gotcha story – we are hoping you will post that soon cos we are rather impatient ladies. We are so pleased you were taken home with Marmie and Diddy – we bet you enjoyed a very good meal too.
    luv Hannah and Lucy xx xx

  11. catfromhell

    Link! Me can not wait for part 2! What an exciting story!
    Kisses
    Nellie

  12. Link
    You knew exactly how to play the bases didn’t you!

    🙂

    >^..^^..^^..^^..^^..^<
    Abby Ping Jinx Boo Gracie
    purrin
    xoxox
    ~ManxMnews

  13. Oh Link, what an amazing story! I can’t wait to hear the rest.

  14. Fin

    You’re a smart boy Link!

  15. Its much better reading a continued story already knowing your home. We’re mostly adopted strays too, so we know about begging on the streets.

Leave a Reply

